Saturday, August 30, 2014

Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost

c6th Rossana Gospels

This Sunday's Gospel is St Luke 10:23-37, the parable of the good Samaritan.

Note that if you live in Australia (and I suspect some other countries), September 5 is officially an Ember Day.

This week in the Benedictine (1962 calendar) Office

Sunday 31 August - Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost/Fifth Sunday of August, Class II
Monday 1 September - Class IV [***In some places, St Vibiana; EF: Commemoration of St Giles]
Tuesday 2 September - Class IV [EF: St Stephen]
Wednesday 3 September - St Pius X, Class III [***In some places St Seraphia]
Thursday 4 September - Class IV
Friday 5 September - Class IV [EF: St Laurence Justinian]
Saturday 6 September – Saturday of Our Lady (Sat 1 of Sept)

And you can find more details of the Office this week in the Ordo for September.

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost

Ottheinrich-Bibel, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cgm 8010, c1425-30

The Gospel this Sunday is St Mark 7:31-36, the healing of a deaf and dumb man.

The Benedictine Office (1962 General Calendar) this week in summary

Sunday 24 August – Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost/Fourth Sunday of August; Commemoration of St Bartholomew
Monday 25 August  - Class IV [in some places/EF: St Louis]
Tuesday 26 August - Class IV [EF: Commemoration of St Zephyrinus]
Wednesday 27 August - Class IV [EF: St Joseph Calasanctius]
Thursday 28 August – St Augustine of Hippo, Class III; St Hermes, memorial
Friday 29 August - Beheading of St John the Baptist, Class III
Saturday 30 August – Our Lady on Saturday (Sat 5 of August); SS Felix and Adauctus, memorial [EF/***in some places, St Rose of Lima]

You can find further details in the Ordo for August.

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Tenth Sunday after Pentecost

Holbein: Woodcut


The Gospel for the Tenth Sunday after Pentecost is St Luke 18: 9-14, on the prayer of the publican and the Pharisee.

This week in the (1962 General Calendar) Benedictine Office

Sunday 17 August – Tenth Sunday after Pentecost/Third Saturday of August, Class II
Monday 18 August - Class IV; St Agapitus, memorial
Tuesday 19 August - Class IV [EF: St John Eudes]
Wednesday 20 August - St Bernard, Class III
Thursday 21 August – Class IV; St Bernard Ptolemy, memorial [EF: St Jane Frances de Chantal]
Friday 22 August - Class IV; St Timothy, memorial [EF: Immaculate Heart of the BVM]
Saturday 23 August - Saturday of Our Lady (Sat 4 of Aug) [EF: St Philip Benizi]

You can find further details in the Ordo for August.

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Ninth Sunday after Pentecost




This week's Gospel is St Luke 19:41-47, the cleansing of the Temple.

The Benedictine Office in summary this week

Sunday 10 August – Ninth Sunday after Pentecost, Class II/Second Sunday of August ; Commemoration of St Lawrence
Monday 11 August - Class IV; St. Tiburtius, Memorial
Tuesday 12 August  – Class IV; St. Clare, memorial
Wednesday 13 August  - Class IV; SS Pontianus and Hippolytus, memorial [EF: SS Hippolytus and Cassian]
Thursday 14 August – Vigil of the Assumption, Class II          
Friday 15 August - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Class I
Saturday 16 August - Saturday of Our Lady (Sat 3 of Aug)

You can find more details of how to say the Office on these days in the Ordo for August.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Eighth Sunday after Pentecost



The Gospel for this Sunday is St Luke 16:1-9, the parable of the unjust steward.

The Office this week

Sunday 3 August – Eighth Sunday after Pentecost/First Sunday of August, Class II
Monday 4 August - St. Dominic, Class III
Tuesday 5 August – Class IV; Dedication of the Church of Our Lady of the Snows, memorial
Wednesday 6 August - Transfiguration of Our Lord, Class II
Thursday 7 August - Class IV; SS Sixtus II, Felicissimus and Agapitus, memorial [EF: St Cajetan]
Friday 8 August – Class IV; St Cyriacus, memorial [EF: St John Mary Vianney]
Saturday 9 August – Vigil of St Lawrence, Class III

You can find further details in the Ordo for August.